A Lifetime

Where’s the creative jolt, Bab? All there is to my right is a green wire basket of marbles. They say the elderly (like babies) are drawn to shiny things, don’t they? Because they lose sense acuity, or something of that sort? Infants are just developing it…good to see things roll right back–full marble–to their nascency.

But I’m neither child nor senior–not in my lying presence. If truth be told, I am very much both and nothing in-between. It’s as though I was born ancient and began to exhaust that epoch in my childhood, and, as soon as adolescence thought it could creep in, childhood raised its head, having been smothered all its proper time by some sage-like caution and “maturity.”

 

Leave a Reply

