Not To Be

Go on and, before noon,

help me deflate my welcome.

For what unfolds will evince soon

what I am and care to become.

 

Pastel backgrounds make

excusable all disorderly splatter.

And what clean priority showers take

over all residual matter.

 

But you, a glittering gutter gem:

unplug the drain, go down with them.

2 comments on “Not To Be

  1. Trent Lewin says:

    I instantly got an image of some scholarly plumber snapping on some pretentious bastard whose drain he’s come to fix. I can’t help but like this poem.

Leave a Reply

