October

Update as of October 7th: 

Aforementioned friend recorded and mailed me the cover to “October.” It is the tune I would close my bedroom door to prior to leaving Worcester. Now, the song has come to mean more than I then anticipated.

“October” – Matt Fox

 

I am happy to initiate the month of my birth, of Halloween, of pumpkin-flavored-everything, with an entrancingly heavyhearted song by Jackson C. Frank. A good friend promised to cover it someday and send me the recording. Until then, here is Jackson C. Frank’s “October”:

 

Following a signal I received in France
Watching all the traffic going by
Your hair is done in sequins
You wear leather pants
Soldiers at the crossroads wave goodbye

And it’s already over in October
Already Christmas every year
It’s always good to sing when you are sober
It’s always good to wipe away a tear

Sometimes I think we’ll all go up in smoke
Owing that the passage is not clear
There is a man who probably will choke
On the words that sound so violently sincere

And it’s already over in October
Already Christmas every year
It’s always good to sing when you are sober
Always good to wipe away the tears

There was a woman who wore my ring upon her hand
Warning me to judge the way I feel
Right on the surface of everything I’d planned
She cut too deep to ever really heal

And it’s already over in October
Already Christmas every year
And it’s always good to sing when you are sober
It’s always good to wipe away the tears

If I see you, I’ll nod to some passing face of God
Who never really answered me at prayer
The Savior is quite odd, he prefers the prod
His kingdom is made out of thin air

And it’s already over in October
Already Christmas every year
It’s always good to sing when you are sober
It’s always good to wipe away the tears

 

One comment on “October

Leave a Reply

